Anna, the buffet-slayer

Posted by Anna

I was running an all-day course today, which included a buffet lunch. Ours was more nutritious (see a sample of the menu on my table below) than the group in another room who ordered a ‘pizza lunch’ — thick-crust, coated in cheese and sliced in quarters. I dread to think how many calories they were apiece! That said, my lunch wasn’t as healthy as the ones I generally have these days. I’ve debated with myself several times whether to ignore the free lunch and go get something more nutrious, but have always let my purse dictate in the end!

Back in the office towards the end of the day, I decided to indulge in 3 chocolate fingers. They were the last in the box, having been bought as part of a ‘cake package’ for someone’s birthday yesterday (all of which I had passed up). I know I should have stopped at one, but had them all. Very tasty they were too, with a cup of tea.

It’s going to be one of those weeks where I’m going to have to carefully watch myself. One of the training team leaves on Friday. We’re all going out to dinner on Wednesday and I know Friday will be filled with various types of confectionary. Then it’s drinks at the pub on Friday night.

Breakfast Yoghurt 75
Sub-total 75
Lunch 1/2 egg mayonnaise sandwich 180
1/4 ham sandwich 80
Sm sausage roll 130
Chicken pieces 100
Small portion fresh fruit 50
Sub-total 540
Dinner Skinless chicken breast 146
Mixed veg 80
Gravy 20
Fresh pineapple 85
Sub-total 331
Snacks 3 chocolate fingers 90
15g nuts 90
Sub-total 180
Drinks 2 cups of tea + various 0 cal bevs 20
Sub-total 20
Total Calories 1,146
One thought on “Anna, the buffet-slayer

Leave a Reply

