Thursday Pizza Without Too Much Damage

Posted by Becky

Because Thursday is the day were we do a lot of chores in the evening, we have a tradition of getting a take-away pizza. We decided to try and get a “take and bake” one to see if we could cut the calories. (and also so that we could have a more accurate picture of what the calories are) I was really pleased that I was able to make choices when faced with the calorie content of the foods I’d bought. To make a fair comparison, I bought garlic bread and chicken pieces from the shop as well. (as that is the meal we usually get from Dominos)

On another note, I got some wooden wine cases (without the wine) from Berry Bros. and sowed some chard and lettuce seeds and I am really, really excited by the prospect of my own vegetables. I already have spinach, brocolli, leeks and cabbage and every day I tend them lovingly. As someone who doesn’t always eat healthily, growing my own veg has made me eat better. (but not on pizza night)

Breakfast 2 pieces of diet french toast 194
Lunch Beetroot Salad 60
Crackers and Cheese 96
Dinner Asda Pizza 400
Garlic Bread 132
Chicken dippers 160
dips 62
1 glass white wine 78
Total Calories 1,182
8 thoughts on “Thursday Pizza Without Too Much Damage

  1. And, get this, my neighbour (Marcus’s mum) came over to ask about Abel & Cole today. She’s just ordered her first family-sized box as she fancied the chard…

    It’s aliens, ALIENS I tell you.

  2. Yes. I planted chard and had a very successful crop. Now one great thing about chard is that you cut the leaves and they regrow. So as long as the weather is good, the chard will keep going. I live in Spain, the weather is good year around.

    Fernando, a lovely portugese man with a green thumb, wanted to do me a favour. So having seen that I liked chard, and that I was busy and not taking care of my garden, he replanted the chard for me. Because I liked it so, he planted lots.

    And the new crop was successful.

    So successful that I was begging people to PLEASE COME EAT MY CHARD because I really couldn’t see how we would get through it all, ever. We still haven’t.

    Every post I posted to the food confessional included chard in some form. I snuck it into breakfast (chard egg mcmuffins!), lunch (any soup is enhanced by chard) and dinner (feta and chard pie!)

    My son ended up making snide comments. “You managed to make Spaghetti Bolognese without adding chard?” It was ugly. And finally, the chard got so tough that we gave up on it.

    I’m now just starting to consider the frozen chard (an entire freezer drawer full of baggies of braised chard) .

    It’s a sore subject.

  3. I must admit I don’t have much experience of chard (I’m absolutely sure I wouldn’t have eaten it as a teenager). What made me buy the chard seed in the first place, apart from the posh Italian deli that made me so excited I had to buy something, was that I think I had some at a dinner party in America. Unfortunately I not in contact with the lady who gave the party and now really can’t remember what to do with it. I think it was served as an appetizer in leaves covered with some olive oil, some garlic and maybe balsamic vinegar?

    As I will (hopefully) have half a ton of it coming up in my wine box garden can anyone suggest recipes?

    I also have a vague memory of my mother warning me not to grow it because it’s bitter. Is it, or is it all in how you prepare it?

  4. Sylvia, you could have dried it and smoked it. Semi-dried it and made ropes from it. Made paper from it.

    Honestly, I don’t think you tried very hard to get through it all.

    (Do I really need to add a smiley?)

  5. Becky: you can use chard leaf in pretty much anything that you would use cooked spinach in. I prefer it because it’s a bit tougher so it doesn’t turn to complete mush like over-cooked spinach. I really did make chard and feta pie based on a spinach pie recipe and it’s now a family favourite.

    Also, it’s a very nice flavour for anything that calls for “greens”

    The stalk can be a bit stringy but makes for a nice vegetable side dish braised in chicken broth. Also, it can be added to any soup or stew. I would think you could use it for any recipe which involves cooking celery (in addition to not instead of, the flavours are quite different).

    As standard, I put both leafy bits and stalk into curries and lentils and things like that.

    Chard as a salad is young chard – and it’s still a bit tough. What we usually see in shops etc, large leaves of chard which look like you could fan yourself with it, isn’t suitable for eating raw. It’s tough and bitter (which is likely what your mother was thinking about) – but lovely once cooked.

    But cut the leaves off at the base and they will regrow. You can then cut the little baby leaves as they regrow and eat them raw. I did it sliced in a salad with lots of other green things. It was OK.

Leave a Reply

