Day 8 – Last Day of School Holidays

Posted by Georgina

Calorie-wise, today was fairly good – but in terms of content it was actually pretty dismal. In my defence, the kids go back to school tomorrow and it was “last few treats, what do you want to eat” scenario. As I eat with the children and don’t really fancy making separate meals (or have the willpower to abstain) this made today’s food fairly nutritionally empty.

I’ll put a few notes at the bottom by way of explanation too.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast BREAD White, Toasted 133
Butter salted 36
MARMALADE Orange, Shredless, Average 26
Cup of Tea 49
Sub-total 244
Lunch BREAD White, Medium Sliced 214
Butter salted 36
JAM Strawberry, Average 25
Nestle ICE LOLLY Fab 78
Sub-total 353
Afternoon Tea Burton’s BISCUITS Jammie Dodgers 170
Cup of Tea 49
Sub-total 219
Dinner Pork loin chop, boneless lean only, grilled 131
Honey 15
Sainsbury’s MUSTARD Dijon, French 7
Carrots, steamed 8
LEEKS, steamed 4
Cabbage savoy, steamed 5
Butter salted 36
POTATOES New, Baby, Average 83
Bisto GRAVY Granules, Made Up 21
Bananas raw 121
Sub-total 431
Late CRANBERRIES Dried, Sweetened, Average 134
Cadbury CHOCOLATE Dairy Milk (20g) 105
Cadbury HOT CHOCOLATE Instant Break 119
Sub-total 358
Exercise Exercise Bike (5 min warmup) -54
Strength Training (20 mins) -139
Total 1,412

Note 1: My cups of tea are fairly high cal because, while I don’t have milk, I have THREE sugars in them (blush). I’ve experimented with lowering this and I’ve just ended up disliking tea. I also don’t like artificial sweeteners (I’m asthmatic and react to some brands of sweetener). My compromise is I’m trying to limit myself to 2 cups of tea a day maximum.

Note 2: My lunch looks absolutely atrocious written down. We have white bread only in the house because youngest son can’t tolerate too much fibre in his diet (let’s just say, it’s not pretty). It is home-baked though if that’s any consolation (although probably worse as getting an even slice is a nightmare).

Note 3: I should have learned from yesterday just to skip the jammie dodgers. I don’t even really like them that much, but I was hungry and that’s what the kids were having. I’m not going to buy any more of them, it’s daft.

Note 4: Dinner was more “normal” and a fairly typical meal for us. All the cal counts for veg are raw rather than steamed, but I figured that given the low numbers it would be a good enough guesstimate.

Note 5: I haven’t actually drunk the hot chocolate yet – it’s part of my night-time routine, so I’ve been adding it in early so I don’t forget to count the calories!

5 thoughts on “Day 8 – Last Day of School Holidays

  1. (Ooh, my HTML generator copes with negative numbers.)

    Great total.

    Consider Options’ and Cadbury low-calorie hot choc drinks (34-40 calories a cup). The orange is lovely. I also like the Options Turkish Delight. I make a paste with the powder with a little skimmed milk and then top up with hot water. They’re also useful for those always-hungry days.

    And have you considered a low-fat spread instead of butter?

    Why are some words in caps? Is it bcos you’re copying them from a food database?

  2. (Yes, I was well impressed that it coped with negative numbers! Makes life much easier!)

    I’ll look out those Options hot chocolates – I have just opened a big tub of the Instant Break though, so I shall finish up that first. I’m getting much better about sipping water during the day, apart from my two tea injections… it’s just that bedtime routine of needing hot choc!

    I have tried low fat spreads before, but to be honest I CAN tell they’re not butter and vastly prefer the real deal ;) I guess I’ll just have to add it to my list of sins that I need to monitor and lower intake of!

    Yes, I’m just copying and pasting from the food focus table as I’ve collected it over the day. Although I did amend some for shortness (the pork chop originally went over two lines the description was so flipping long) and I changed the veg description to steamed as that what’s I had – just for clarity really.

    I might split up the table a bit more this evening, then I can comment on each meal more easily.

  3. What I did with butter, and this was pre-diet, was to stop using any dairy spread with things such as peanut butter or jam. However, marmite and marmalade are noticeably enhanced with a dairy spread.

    Btw, re: sweet tea. I agree. I found it easy to stop taking sugar with coffee (and now sweet coffee seems icky to me) but I gotta have sweet tea. I use Splenda. I was adding three tablets per cup of tea but recently went down to two.

  4. I use Splenda too, and it was extremely hard for me to give up butter, as I hate toast without butter. However, since I am not allowed breads anymore, I am not using butter. I would rather go without!

Leave a Reply

