Day 11 – Portion Control

Posted by Georgina

It’s been an accidental high calorie day, although snack wise I was very good, I’ve had a few shocks in terms of calorie content of some of my usual foods. So the surprises have pushed me somewhat higher than I was hoping to be given that I’m having an evening off dieting tomorrow night. Still, it’s been an important lesson in portion control.

On to the all important tables…

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast Tesco BREAKFAST CEREAL Rice Snaps 95
Milk 3.7% fat 83
Cup of Tea 49
Total 227

At least the first surprise of the day was a nice surprise – I decided to measure out the cereal and milk portion I have rather than assuming standard serving and found my serving was much smaller. The downside was it probably wasn’t enough to keep me going until lunchtime and I was REALLY hungry by then.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Lunch BREAD White, Medium Sliced 262
Butter salted 36
Marmite MARMITE Yeast Extract 20
EGGS Medium, Boiled, Average 171
Tropicana SMOOTHIE – Strawberry & Banana 135
Total 624

A fairly large lunch – in retrospect I would have been quite happy stopping at one slice of toast/marmite rather than having the second. I also discovered that my portion size for a smoothie was about 20% larger than the “serving size” on the carton. Now using a smaller glass.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Afternoon Tea Cup of Tea 49
Total 49

Not only did I manage to avoid the biscuits, but the kids brought home chocolate from school (was a classmate’s birthday) and I didn’t succumb (although probably due less to willpower and more down to still being full from lunch!)

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Dinner Homemade Coleslaw 73
Homemade Red Onion & Cheddar Quiche 321
POTATOES New, Baby, Average 113
Butter salted 36
CHICKEN Wafer Thin, Average 12
Hellmann’s MAYONNAISE 108
Total 663

The quiche left me in shock. I had NO IDEA that it would be that high calorie (and that was HALF the portion size that I’d normally have). In retrospect, it probably shouldn’t have been a shock – eggs, cheese, pastry and milk aren’t exactly low calorie items, but still.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Late GIN 37.5% Volume 52
Schweppes TONIC WATER Indian 66
Cadbury HOT CHOCOLATE Instant Break 119
Total 237

Not much to say, other than it was a gin night!

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Exercise Exercise Bike (30 mins) -320
Total -320

I really struggled on the bike tonight. I’m definitely coming down with a nasty cold that the kids have brought home with them from school (they’ve only been THERE 3 days, how unfair is that?!) – I really wanted to earn that G&T! However, I can’t have done that badly and must have gone a bit faster than normal as I burnt a few extra cals off, which made it all worth while.

Cheers.

Oh, the final tally:

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast Cereal and a cup of tea 227
Lunch Soft boiled eggs and marmitey soldiers with a glass of smoothie 624
Afternoon Tea Cup of Tea 49
Dinner Quiche, coleslaw, new potatoes and chicken slices 663
Late G&T and hot choc 237
Exercise Exercise Bike -320
Total 1,480

Wow. That can’t be right… I thought I’d be really close to 1600 with that. *Does sums*. Oh.

Can I have a piece of chocolate then?

Oh, alright… I’ll be good…

Leave a Reply

