Day 12 – Day Off Guesstimation

Posted by Georgina

Apologies for the late posting – I got in so late last night that it was easier just to post in the morning. I’ve tracked what I’d eaten just for the sake of seeing how drastically I’d gone over my limit, but to be honest, everything at dinner was my best guess at calories and portion size and may actually be wildly out. Where I could, I did aim for “worst-case scenario” calories.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast BREAD White, Toasted 159
Butter salted 36
MARMALADE Orange, Shredless, Average 26
Cup of Tea 49
Total 270

A pretty usual breakfast, back to toast for weekend laziness.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Lunch SOUP Lentil 198
Sainsbury’s BREAD Rolls, Finger, White 96
Butter salted 36
Total 330

As I knew dinner would be ignoring the diet, I tried to keep lunch fairly low cal. The lentil soup was homemade that I had in the freezer and I confess that I couldn’t be bothered to dig out the recipe to work out the calories exactly, so used an average unbranded calorie figure from the database. I doubt that it’s out by much though.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Afternoon Tea Cup of Tea 49
Plums raw 61
Total 110

We weren’t going to eat until 8.30, so I had some plums mid-afternoon to try and keep my going – slowly reducing the plum excess! Resisted the biscuits.

Here on in it gets all a bit handwavy:

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Dinner CHAMPAGNE Average 89
WINE White, Dry 309
SALAD Green 13
OIL Olive, Average 43
Vinegar balsamic 5
RISOTTO Mushroom 277
Ice creams vanilla 145
Ice creams chocolate 125
Ice creams strawberry 111
COFFEE Latte 192
Total 1,309

The wine figure is highly guesstimated – glass was regularly topped up and I’m not totally sure as to quantity. I’ve guessed that I had a glass more than I thought I had, just to be safe.

We went to Puccini’s – a really friendly small Italian restaurant. I was really impressed how accommodating they were with our parties dietry requirements (we had someone who couldn’t eat cheese, and a couple of us who wanted small portions) and very reasonably priced.

I had a nice light starter: lettuce, red onion, cucumber and tomato with a small drizzle of olive oil and balsamic vinegar. For my main, I requested (and got!) a small portion of mushroom risotto (which always fills me up quickly and I can never manage a proper sized portion anyway even pre-diet) which was absolutely delicious. For dessert, I had a scoop each of chocolate, vanilla and strawberry icecream and a latte.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Late COLA Coke 142
Cadbury HOT CHOCOLATE Instant Break 119
Total 261

Went on to a pub but by that point I was alcohol’d out and had a coke instead to rehydrate a bit. Hot choc at home before bed as usual!

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Exercise Walking (15 mins) 72
Total -72

Not much exercise. I counted the walk to my friend’s house as it was further than I would normally walk (and it was in pouring rain, can’t it count for more calories if I got sopping wet?!!) but didn’t count walking around town when we got there because that felt more like normal activity sort of levels.

Okay, let’s add up the damage.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast Toast, marmalade and tea 270
Lunch Lentil soup and a bread roll 330
Afternoon Tea Cup of tea and two plums 110
Dinner Night out with friends at a restaurant 1,309
Late Glass of coke and a hot chocolate 261
Exercise Walking -72
Total 2,208

Oh dear, that would be quite a bit over then.

Leave a Reply

