Day 16 – Hungry

Posted by Georgina

On paper, today was a fairly successful day (bang on target to the calorie again) – but it was a swimming night which meant that dinner was very early (to get the kids to the swimming pool in time) and then I end up snacking most of the evening. I was also feeling really ravenous most of the day, even after eating. It got to the point where this evening I was there with a calculator and kitchen scales measuring out the EXACT amount of chocolate I could have with my remaining calories.

Maybe my new lower limit is a bit too optimistic – or maybe I’m just not balancing out the calories throughout the day properly again. I’ll try and keep it up this week and reassess next weigh-in day.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast Tesco BREAKFAST CEREAL Rice Snaps 76
Milk 3.7% fat 61
Cup of Tea 49
Total 186

The usual breakfast. I’m wondering if I should really try and aim to fit more cals into breakfast to try and spread the calorie load better. Problem is, I’m just not awake enough to eat properly in the mornings. Maybe I’ll try to have a piece of fruit after the school run as a belated breakfast top up.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Lunch BREAD White, Medium Sliced 226
Butter salted 36
Ferrero CHOCOLATE SPREAD Hazelnut, Nutella 53
Tropicana SMOOTHIE – Strawberry & Banana 135
Total 450

What can I say, it’s been a chocolate sort of day…

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Afternoon Tea Cup of Tea 49
Total 49

No snack in the afternoon today, but had dinner at 4.30pm instead.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Dinner COD Fillets, Battered, Average 194
CHIPS Homemade, Fried In Blended Oil 321
PEAS Frozen, Average 19
SWEETCORN Frozen, Average 32
KETCHUP Tomato 26
Total 592

A lot of calories on chips, but I enjoyed EVERY last one. Yum!

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Late Coca-Cola COLA Coke 142
Cadbury HOT CHOCOLATE Instant Break 119
Walkers QUAVERS Cheese 82
Cadbury CHOCOLATE Dairy Milk 184
Total 527

Not so happy with this – my ‘snacking’ was practically another meal – would have been better to have something at least less nutritionally empty to be such a big proportion of the day. I need to have a better strategy for Wednesdays.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Exercise Cycle ride around local woods -445
Total -445

Wow. And I thought the fact I was absolutely shattered at the end of it was just my imagination. Was nice to see that I’d actually burned substantially more calories for the effort.

So, time for the grand total:

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast Cereal and a cup of tea 186
Lunch Chocolate spread sandwich and a smoothie 450
Afternoon Tea Cup of Tea 49
Dinner Battered cod, chips, peas and sweetcorn 592
Late Can of coke, crisps, chocolate and hot chocolate 527
Exercise Cycle ride through the woods -445
Total 1,359

At least I didn’t snack myself over target.

2 thoughts on “Day 16 – Hungry

  1. You eat nice things… Mmm.

    Why white bread?

    And why butter AND nutella? Can you really taste the butter under chocolate spread?

    (I think I said this before but) I now think of butter a glue. I consider it as a flavour in its own right on toast with marmite or marmalade. So I use other things when a glue is needed in a sandwich or skip it if I’m having toast with anything other than marmite or marmalade.

    Are you hungry when you have breakfast in the mornings? Unless I get up really early, I don’t get hungry for a few hours after waking up.

  2. White bread: youngest son is intolerant to high fibre (even to the point where I had 50g brown flour to 450g white – still messed up his digestive system because he’s a bread fiend). I don’t actually like fully brown bread, but I miss the bit of brown flour to add flavour

    Butter and nutella: you’re right, habit really.

    Breakfast: no, not really and therein lies the problem. I feel I’m force-feeding myself most mornings, but if I don’t eat and then exercise (like I did yesterday – burned double the amount of calories that I’d actually eaten that morning!) bad things happen! I think if I do cut down the evening snacking I’ve got a better chance of being hungrier in the morning.

Leave a Reply

