Day 17 – More Balance, but Still Hungry

Posted by Georgina

I did a better job at spreading out the calories today. I have a rough plan in my head that I should have around 300 cals for breakfast, 500 for lunch and dinner and only 100 for snacks in the evening (unless I exercise, of course, and that ‘earns’ me more). I stuck to that fairly well today, but I still have the problem that I feel ravenously hungry, even directly after a meal. Perhaps it’s just my body adjusting – we’ll see.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast Tesco BREAKFAST CEREAL Rice Snaps 76
Milk 3.7% fat 61
Cup of Tea 49
Fruit Bowl BARS School, Blackcurrant, Apple, & Pear 72
Total 258

The plan was to have some fruit when I arrived back from the school run. Almost – managed a fruit snack bar thing which we had left over from camping.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Lunch Jacobs CRACKERS Cream 101
Butter salted 36
Cheese cheddar 60
Salad 18
Tesco DRESSING French 44
KP HULA HOOPS Original 77
Tropicana SMOOTHIE – Strawberry & Banana 135
Total 471

I am so utterly bored of sandwiches – was nice to have something different for a change. Even managed to allow some calories for a shared pack of hula hoops with my son!

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Afternoon Tea Cup of Tea 49
Total 49

Managed to avoid the biscuits with herculean effort.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Dinner Pork loin chop, grilled 120
POTATOES New, Baby, Average 124
Cabbage savoy, steamed 8
Carrots, steamed 12
Bisto GRAVY Granules, Made Up 8
Apple Sauce 44
Homemade Plum Icecream 90
Askeys Luxury Fan Wafer 42
Total 448

Really enjoyed this dinner (although at the end of it, wished that I could eat it all again!). Made up for it by treating myself to a scoop of the plum icecream I made last week – which was absolutely delicious.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Late WINE White, Dry 116
Cadbury HOT CHOCOLATE Instant Break 119
Total 235

Despite still being a bit hungry, I’m resisting trying to “fill up” the remaining calories and sipping my white wine slowly. I’m telling myself that this will get easier.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Exercise Exercise Bike (warm up 5 mins) -53
Strength Training (20 mins) -135
Total -188

Am finding the strength training a little easier now – that means it’s probably time to increase reps/up the weights.

Aaaaaaaand the final total is:

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast Cereal, cup of tea and a fruit snack bar 258
Lunch Cheese, crackers, salad, crisps and a smoothie 471
Afternoon Tea Cup of Tea 49
Dinner Pork chop, new potatoes, steamed veg and a scoop of plum icecream with a wafer 448
Late Glass of white wine and a hot chocolate 235
Exercise Strength training -188
Total 1,273

Not bad. Not bad at all.

4 thoughts on “Day 17 – More Balance, but Still Hungry

  1. Good total. Does the web site you use to store the food diaries show the split between protein, carbs and fat? If so, what are the daily percentages?

    If you have the info, you might like to include them in your total table using the expanded (but unadvertised) version of my food diary HTML generator.

    Re: always hungry – I get days like that too occasionally. I find them very unnerving. I assumed I was just not eating the right thing. I haven’t researched the phenomenon. Perhaps I should.

  2. I do – but to be honest, it hurts my brain getting the cals right, let alone any other numbers and it tends to be fairly meaningless to me :) I know I tend to eat less protein than I should (and correspondingly more fat/carbs). I don’t have percentages, but in terms of grammes, I had:

    Fat 40g Carbs 204g Protein 41g.

  3. PS. Yes, I know what you mean about not eating the right thing – I vaguely remember reading something about low GI foods, and then completely blanked it again.

    I do have the issue that I share most of my meals with my children and what is a suitable diet for me, is not necessarily suitable for very skinny and fast growing boys. As a result, I’ve erred towards smaller portions and cutting out snacking rather than trying to radically alter diet as a whole. But you’re right – this could be a major factor as to why I’m feeling majorly hungry, even after meals.

  4. 1g protein = 4 calories
    1g carbohydrates = 4 calories
    1g fat = 9 calories

    Those totals work out at as:
    21% protein
    61% carbs
    27% fat

    Given that I aim for 25% 50% 25%, that isn’t bad.

Leave a Reply

