Day 19 – Still Feeling Rough

Posted by Georgina

I fully intended to keep track but not worry about calorie limits yesterday but in the event, my sinuses were hellish and I just didn’t fancy eating much at all. Made up for it in the evening meal which really caught me by surprise (baked potatoes are HOW much calories?! Might as well as had chips!) but only pushed me slightly over.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast Tesco BREAKFAST CEREAL Rice Snaps 76
Milk 3.7% fat 61
Cup of Tea 49
Total 186

Breakfast was a real “oh, do I have to” meal. Forced myself to have something though.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Morning Tea Cup of Tea 49
Total 49

Really fancied another cuppa around 11am and figured something warm and wet would do me good. I also had a multivitamin and a cod liver oil capsule – the latter is probably worth some calories, but I really couldn’t be bothered to log it.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Lunch Jacobs CRACKERS Cream 84
Butter salted 36
Cheese cheddar 40
Salad 21
Tesco DRESSING French 22
Tropicana SMOOTHIE – Strawberry & Banana 135
Total 338

Without really thinking I ended up with slightly more salad and slightly less dressing than normal, so I am learning better habits subconsciously.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Afternoon Tea Cup of Tea 49
Total 49

Had a friend over for a cuppa while eldest son went off to a party.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Dinner Potatoes baked, skin, without salt 337
OIL Olive, Extra Virgin, Average 85
Butter salted 36
Salad 21
Tesco DRESSING French 22
Marinated Chicken Skewers 154
Hellmann’s MAYONNAISE 72
Total 727

I am still in shock over the baked potato – especially as I left half of it (accounted for in the above totals) so assumed I hadn’t eaten that much. And okay, probably the olive oil (to cook the potato), butter (on the potato when cut open), mayonnaise (to go with the chicken) AND dressing (for the salad) was probably a bit overkill and unnecessary. If I was calorie limiting then I’d probably have dropped the butter and had a smaller portion of mayonnaise.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Late WINE White, Dry 38
Cadbury HOT CHOCOLATE Instant Break 119
Total 157

Just a third of a glass of wine tonight as I was finishing up the bottle in the fridge. Again, didn’t really fancy anything to eat, but then looking at the dinner totals, I’m not quite so surprised now!

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Exercise Walking, moderate pace (20 mins) -98
Total -98

I wasn’t going to do any exercise, but took eldest son to a party. The walk there and back is more than I would normally have done on a Saturday, so I’ve counted it.

Grand total:

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast Cereal and a cup of tea 186
Morning Tea Cup of Tea 49
Lunch Cheese, crackers, salad and a smoothie 338
Afternoon Tea Cup of Tea 49
Dinner Chicken skewers, baked potato and salad 727
Late Small white wine and a hot chocolate 157
Exercise Walk to party and back twice -98
Total 1,408
4 thoughts on “Day 19 – Still Feeling Rough

  1. I think that’s a very respectable total.

    Why are you forcing yourself to have breakfast if you’re not hungry? I know that people say start the day with breakfast – blah blah – but one of the things I decided is to only eat when I’m hungry. It seems to me that if my body lets me know when it wants to have its first food, that’s good enough for me.

    Consider spray oil (1 calorie a spray) for cooking.

  2. Mainly because it’s difficult to find the time to eat something sensible later – when the kids are at school I quite often go out on my bike straight after drop off which means I feel absolutely wiped at the end if I haven’t eaten, even if I don’t feel physically hungry. If they are at home, then it’s difficult for me to eat at other times to them because then they want snacks (and then don’t eat meals!). It’s a bit of a balancing act.

    Is spray oil just normal oil in a spray can or does it have loads of additives? Am asthmatic and can randomly react to some sweeteners, so I do have to be careful of the ‘extras’ that get loaded into a lot of diet products.

  3. FryLight spray oil = Rapeseed or olive oil (just over 50%) + water + Soya Lecithin (E473, emulsifier) + Alcohol + Vitamin E (antioxidant).

    It’s just watered down oil. The can says it can be used for shallow frying, baking and roasting. The alcohol is to help preserve the oil and will evaporate on cooking.

Leave a Reply

