Day 21 – Wipe Out

Posted by Georgina

Yesterday was an excellent example of why I need to spread my calories out more throughout the day, even if I don’t feel hungry.

After a long bike ride on only a small cal breakfast I was absolutely exhausted (AND the hilly bits were hard work to get up) to the point of barely being able to get out of my chair again once I’d sat down on my return.

Wasn’t really hungry all day because I was so tired. Finally picked up just after dinner time – started feeling hungry again about half way through the meal then ended up overcompensating in the evening as I had so many “spare” calories left. Then got carried away and went over my allowance.

This morning, of course, as I was eating so late last night. I’m not hungry. And this is what vicious circles are made of. *sigh*.

Live and learn, live and learn.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast Tesco BREAKFAST CEREAL Rice Snaps 76
Milk 3.7% fat 61
Cup of Tea 49
Fruit Bowl BARS School, Blackcurrant, Apple, & Pear 72
Total 258

The standard breakfast – reasonable amount, but not so much when you then go out on a bike ride that almost burns 500 calories.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Lunch Tesco BREAD Baguette, French 132
Butter salted 36
Salad 18
Tesco DRESSING French 22
Cheese brie 134
Tropicana SMOOTHIE – Strawberry & Banana 135
Total 477

Using up leftovers from yesterday’s lunch.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Afternoon Tea Cup of Tea 49
Total 49

Was flopped on the sofa for most of the afternoon – probably a day where a couple of biscuits or a piece of fruit might have done me some good. Must remember that tiredness and lethargy can be as much hunger signs for me as an empty and complaining stomach!

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Dinner Cottage Pie 467
Cabbage savoy, steamed 15
Bananas raw 105
Total 587

Using up the remaining roast beef in a cottage pie.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Late Cadbury CHOCOLATE Dairy Milk 210
GIN 37.5% Volume 52
Schweppes TONIC WATER Indian 66
Cadbury HOT CHOCOLATE Instant Break 119
Cadbury HOT CHOCOLATE Instant Break 119
Total 566

Yes, as I’d got my second wind in the evening, I ended up staying up later than I normally would, and had a second hot chocolate, pushing me over my allowance. Also, my calorie intake for snacks was greater than any individual meal, which really isn’t a great idea or very balanced.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Exercise Cycle ride around local woods -493
Total -493

No wonder I was knackered!

And the grand total is…

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Breakfast Cereal, cup of tea and a fruit snack bar 258
Lunch Baguette, salad, brie and smoothie 477
Afternoon Tea Cup of Tea 49
Dinner Shepherds Pie, cabbage and a banana 587
Late Chocolate, G&T and two hot chocolates 566
Exercise Cycle ride through the woods -493
Total 1,444
One thought on “Day 21 – Wipe Out

  1. I know what you mean about vicious cycles. One thing I’ve noticed is that I’m pretty much consistently hungry in the morning, which I suspect is because I’m no longer eating quite so much at night. It’s confusing to try to fit breakfasts in, though!

Leave a Reply

