A Bit of Calorie Counting

Posted by Sylvia

I’ve gained weight again over Christmas and now I’m back at 80 kilos. I stopped exercising and I saw my weight creeping back up (very visible in my face) but I thought I could lose it again quickly after the holidays. I think there’s a bit of a danger of feeling “oh, I have to lose so much weight, a couple more pounds won’t make a difference.”

I feel I’m no longer making smart choices about the foods that I’m eating. So although I’m easing back into an exercise regime, it’s not enough. I really can’t imagine eating thriftily in restaurants and when visiting but I proved before that if I keep calories down at home, that’s enough to keep it under control or even lose weight.

We’ll have guests again after that so this’ll be on again off again. I was previously concerned that that would lead to binging but I think actually it makes more sense to just shift back and forth rather than constantly put off “real dieting” while my daily calorie intake keeps sneaking up.

I have set a limit of 1,200 calories a day because otherwise it’s too easy to round numbers and lose track of the calories. I’m cooking for two this time which makes it more challenging and I’m not going to drive myself crazy if it goes a bit over.

2 thoughts on “A Bit of Calorie Counting

  1. “I was previously concerned that that would lead to binging but I think actually it makes more sense to just shift back and forth rather than constantly put off “real dieting” while my daily calorie intake keeps sneaking up.”

    Yes, this makes sense. I know that I suffer from a whole litany of excuses to eat and put off dieting.

    In the end, it’s not an all-or-nothing exercise. Every good choice makes a positive difference – just don’t do what I seem to be doing now, which is hijacking the good choices with bad because ya think you have room for maneuver.

Leave a Reply

