Can’t Trust that Day

Posted by Sylvia

Day One

Lunch was Spicy Pork and Rice Soup with Lime & Chopped Salad with Cilantro and Parmesan. I reduced the olive oil but otherwise left it alone.

Ingredients for 4 portions of the soup:

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Spicy Pork Soup
1 tablespoon olive oil 120
1 pound pork (approx) 650
180g onion 72
2 garlic cloves 9
30g Pickled Chiles 12
1/4 cup rice 169
1 litre purchased broth 50
Juice of 1 lime 11
Sub-total 1,093
Total 1,093

At four servings that’s just over 250 calories a serving. I added 200g of zucchinni and a little bit of dry cabbage because they needed using up and the soup looked like it could use some veg. That adds 10 calories a serving. It’s a nice soup.

I took their word for the salad at 15 calories (it’s just veg and vinegar) which put lunch today at 275 calories.

The downside was that I felt hungry afterwards.

Snack:

75g radishes with salt: 12 cal

I have Japanese sesame salt which I ate with these which was really nice. It doesn’t mention calories so I don’t think it has any but I guess I should make sure.

For dinner, I was going to make Chicken Picatta when I realised that the two tablespoons of butter were going to add a whopping 200 calories. This proves my point: I’m really not looking at meals in a low-cal sort of way at all anymore.

Instead, I spiced the chicken with lots of lemon pepper and then grilled it. I thought about sprinkling a little bit of olive oil or butter on the chicken in the end since it looked so terribly dry. I decided to sprinkle parmesan on instead at the very end. That worked wonderfully, the chicken was a little bit dry but the cheese made a huge difference. I’ll use that trick again.

Meal Food | Drink Calories
Dinner 100g White Beans 142
250g Grilled Chicken 275
Lemon Juice 11
Artichoke hearts 50
1 tbsp Parmesan Cheese 21
Sub-total 499
Total 499

I was starving waiting for the dinner to finish and then afterwards I was still hungry. When I totalled up the calories, I understood why. Even after the apple, I was still peckish. Paola’s comments about feeling hungry at bedtime helped, it reminded me that I didn’t always HAVE to feel full.

I did feel hard done by, though. I would have had something else but when I went shopping I hadn’t actually thought about low cal snacks so the only thing in the kitchen was really carrot sticks, which didn’t appeal. I didn’t really fancy having a drink on the first night of counting calories so I decided just to live with it.

Shortly before bed, I realised I was cold and I thought a warm drink would be nice which is when I remembered the Options hot chocolate. It was just right!

Today:

Milky Coffee 30
Lunch 275
Snack 12
Dinner 499
Apple 114
Options Hot Chocolate 32
Total Calories 962
4 thoughts on “Can’t Trust that Day

  1. That’s a really good total.

    Do you think you’re still hungry because of quantities?

    “I was starving waiting for the dinner to finish and then afterwards I was still hungry.”

    I try to avoid that feeling and will snack even if it’s an hour before a meal. Or else I eat too fast at meal-time. A Crackerbread and a bit of low-fat cheese is less than 50 calories.

    With people’s return, I’m feeling enthusiastic again and I’m gonna compile a page of <100-cal filling quick dishes based on my last year of dieting.

  2. Do you think you’re still hungry because of quantities?

    I think so, but I’m not sure. Today I left behind some of the couscous (I wasn’t being virtuous, it wasn’t that nice) but still didn’t feel full. Yesterday I definitely would have cleared it.

    It has got me thinking, though, that one method of portion control for me might be making things I don’t like. Hmmm.

    I try to avoid that feeling and will snack even if it’s an hour before a meal.

    I often feel VERY hungry as I’m cooking and will sometimes cut extra vegetables so I have something “free” to nibble on to keep me from eating big bites of food. I don’t think I rush through the meal but it may make me eat more. I’ll keep watch and see.

    The 100-cal page is great. It inspired me to buy low-fat cream cheese and celery today.

  3. Adding a lot of chilli sauce certainly tempers one’s ability to finish a plate of food, I found! :-)

    Remember my carbs -> hunger post, that sometimes staving off hunger means avoiding a predominance of carbs.

    “I often feel VERY hungry as I’m cooking and will sometimes cut extra vegetables so I have something “free” to nibble on to keep me from eating big bites of food.”

    It’s all too easy for me to look at things critically as an outsider, but it strikes me that nibbling this way doesn’t really satisfy the psychological need to eat. I can imagine that one can get through a few nibbles and lose track of how much one has had and not really feel satiated.

    Maybe in the same way that one shouldn’t go food shopping on an empty stomach, one shouldn’t cook a big meal thusly too.

  4. Nibbling a bit of veg takes the edge off and also keeps me from taking bites of the meal I am making. It makes it a separate thing: yes, you can have a snack, but it’s THIS snack, over here. I have slices of red pepper or carrot sticks, so that how ever much I eat, it’s really not going to break the bank (but does make me feel fuller)

    I had a very bad habit of eating a lot in the kitchen through “testing” dishes and eating a slice or two of everything I was cutting. The separate nibbles keep this a conscious thing and when I see myself reaching for that bit of chicken or chunk of cheese, I stop and get out a plate of veg and stick to that. I haven’t been doing it this week but now that we have nice celery in I might try that.

    I think deep down I believe that one of the bonuses of doing the kitchen is getting all the titbits and so setting aside some me-food means that the entitlement complex is fulfilled without the calories being piled on.

    I always shop after eating but I really hate cooking when full. :)

Leave a Reply

