It’s the End of the Week as We Know It

Posted by Sylvia

Yesterday I kept track of the food in my browser instead of in my notebook and then, like an idiot, closed the browser. I won’t be doing that again.

I had my morning coffee as usual, then we had pork and beans and rice for lunch. I made the pork and beans earlier and had been thinking of it as a starter – but I couldn’t think of a light main course to go with it so I added the rice and some tomatoes instead to bulk it out. It was not really a good meal – the portions felt small when I served and we both agreed we felt hungry afterwards.

Dinner was better, I found these little lean ham steaks at 109 calories each so we had those with sauerkraut and boiled potatoes. Sauerkraut is great in terms of low-cal but the problem is that I’ve been eating it all my life and I expect the flavours of ham and sausage and liverwurst to come through. So at the moment, it just tastes like a disappointment.

I bought cottage cheese and I really wanted to eat it after dinner but I decided to allow myself extra Options instead.

The total came out to under 1,100 but I can’t be bothered trying to recreate the detail again.

This afternoon guests arrived so we’ll be off the diet doing restaurants and entertaining. I had already made a pot of Manila Chicken and Tamarind soup which needed eating so that helped resist any temptation to quit the diet early (that is, before dinner time). I need to remember to do that in future.

I finally have the wii fit that we got for Christmas and set it all up. It looks like a lot of fun! I did my half hour of training (takes about an hour because of all the bumph and motivational stuff) but I enjoyed the steps which is done like a dance routine with a crowd cheering at you. The hula hooping and slalom look fun too. I don’t think it would replace a serious workout but for someone like me who struggles to do daily exercise, I think it might help.

The worst thing about it though, is that after you put in your height and weight, it works out your BMI and then applies it to your mii (your avatar) – I felt heartbroken as I watched it go all plump! I suppose the point is to help motivate you by watching it slim back down but it was a bit sad.

I’ve set it up with a goal of losing 10 kilos in 6 months. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

