Busy Week

Posted by Sylvia

My food counting has been somewhat sporadic this week. Monday we had a power out and I didn’t track lunch. Then we went out to dinner to avoid having to eat in the dark.

Tuesday, I made this pork soup which I reduced down to a thick consistency. I added the juice of one lime and then called “lime curry”. The guys both seemed to like it.

1 onion, chopped 40
1 tablespoon olive oil 120
garlic & ginger 20
430g pork 722
chiles 6
Red pepper 12
Chicken Broth 40
dried mushrooms 10
200g chard 40
10g corn flour 36
Total Calories 1,046

I split it into portions of 202 calories each and served it with 155 calories of rice to make for a nice and low lunch of 357 calories.

Dinner was skewered chicken. We had about 250 cal of chicken per person (two large chicken breasts, cut up and distributed among 9 skewers) along with courgette, green pepper, onion and steamed new potatos. I don’t have a calorie count but as I only seasoned with salt and pepper and quickly greased the grill without using oil on the skewers, I can’t believe it is more than 100 cal per person for the veg.

I felt hungry afterwards.

I had three cups of milky coffee today so 90 cal for breakfast

Today’s lunch was Chicken Pita:

Lunch 220g Chicken Breast 250
pita bread 190
hummous 35
marinade oil (1/3 of a teaspoon) 16
marinade 10
tomato 35
Total Calories 536

The bread was fluffy and not really pita-like. I can’t help but feel that it was a waste of calories.

As it’s a busy week (I’m preparing to be away for two weeks) I’m not stressing out too much about exact counts but trying to keep totals low. I don’t think I’m at a point where I can confidently stay under 1,200/day without tracking but I feel pretty good about reducing the workload for this week and still staying within limits.

I don’t think I’ll get a chance to post about dinner (lean lamb steaks from a deboned leg with salad and couscous) but I think it might be a struggle to keep it under 500 in total.

On the other hand, tomorrow is snack food in the small plane (boiled eggs, mini-calzones, apples, olives, radishes, cherry tomatos) and I really don’t want to be feeling too hungry while we’re flying so I think a good (but not extravagant) dinner is called for!

Leave a Reply

